All posts tagged: movies

Strange Happenings in February

February 3rd Knock at the Cabin in theaters. While vacationing, a girl and her parents are taken hostage by armed strangers who demand that the family make a choice to avoid the apocalypse. February 5th Full moon February 7th Couplets: Love Story on shelves. “Maggie Millner’s captivating, seductive debut is a love story in poems that explores obsession, gender, identity, and the art and act of literary transformation. In rhyming couplets and prose vignettes, Couplets chronicles the strictures, structures, and pitfalls of relationships―the mirroring, the pleasing, the small jealousies and disappointments―and how the people we love can show us who we truly are.” All that Breathes streaming on HBO “Amidst the darkening backdrop of Delhi’s apocalyptic air and escalating violence, two brothers devote their lives to protect one casualty of the turbulent times: the bird known as the Black Kite.” February 9th Stolen Youth: Inside the Cult at Sarah Lawrence Streaming on Hulu. “A group of bright Sarah Lawrence College students fall under the dark influence of a friend’s father, Larry Ray. With unprecedented access …

Strange Happenings in January

Whether you make big plans and resolutions each New Year or look at January 1st as just another day, 2023 has many books, shows, movies and Natural Events to look forward to. Happy New Year! January 1st Frankenstein was published on this day in 1818. January 5th Death in the Dorms streaming on Hulu. “Death in the Dorms” tells the stories of six young women from six different colleges who were murdered” January 6th Full Moon M3GAN in theaters. A brilliant toy company roboticist uses artificial intelligence to develop M3GAN, a life-like doll programmed to emotionally bond with her newly orphaned niece. But when the doll’s programming works too well, she becomes overprotective of her new friend with terrifying results.” January 10th Bad Cree by Jessica Johns on shelves “In this gripping debut tinged with supernatural horror, a Cree woman’s dreams lead her on a perilous journey of self-discovery that ultimately forces her to confront the toll of a legacy of violence on her family, her community and the land they call home.” The Hatchet …

Strange Happenings in May

May brings us the halfway point to summer, the halfway point to Halloween, and a whole list of strange and spooky things to look forward to. May 1st May Day. Originally celebrated in ancient Greece and later Medieval Europe to welcome the halfway point between spring and summer, the first of May later evolved into International Workers Day. May 2nd Halfway point to Halloween 🎃 May 3rd Paranormal Day. A holiday dedicated to sharing paranormal experiences with others. This day is not just limited to ghost stories either, UFOs, Bigfoot sightings, premonitions and deja vu all count! Book of Night by Holly Black on shelves. “#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.” May 5th Peak of the Eta Aquariids Meteor Shower. May 6th The Unsolved Murder of Beverly Lynn Smith streaming on Amazon Prime Video. “The new docuseries focuses on the death of Beverly …

Strange Happenings in April

April 1st NaPoWriMo begins today. If you want to join in on this month long challenge, visit the unofficial homepage. Creator Maureen Thorson provides daily prompts and ideas for participating poets. April 5th Under Her Skin, ed. Lindy Ryan and Toni Miller on shelves “Black Spot Books’ inaugural poetry collection spotlights women in horror poetry, centering on the concept of body horror, and featuring work from Bram-Stoker award-winning and nominated authors, as well as dozens of poems from women (cis and trans) and non-binary femmes in horror.” April 7th April 16th Full Moon April 17 International Haiku Poetry Day Dedicated by the Haiku Foundation to celebrate the ancient poetry form. National Bat Appreciation Day. A great reason to watch Netflix’s Night on Earth docu-series, in which bats pop up in more than one episode. April 29th Mercury at Greatest Eastern Elongation. This is the best time to view Mercury since it will be at its highest point above the horizon in the evening sky. Mercury will appear low in the western sky just after sunset. …