All posts tagged: movies

Strange Happenings in September

Fall may not arrive until later this month, but everywhere you look, people are trying to will it into existence.

Strange Happenings in May

May brings us the halfway point to summer, the halfway point to Halloween, and a whole list of strange and spooky things to look forward to. May 1st May Day. Originally celebrated in ancient Greece and later Medieval Europe to welcome the halfway point between spring and summer, the first of May later evolved into International Workers Day. May 2nd Halfway point to Halloween 🎃 May 3rd Paranormal Day. A holiday dedicated to sharing paranormal experiences with others. This day is not just limited to ghost stories either, UFOs, Bigfoot sightings, premonitions and deja vu all count! Book of Night by Holly Black on shelves. “#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.” May 5th Peak of the Eta Aquariids Meteor Shower. May 6th The Unsolved Murder of Beverly Lynn Smith streaming on Amazon Prime Video. “The new docuseries focuses on the death of Beverly …

Strange Happenings in April

April 1st NaPoWriMo begins today. If you want to join in on this month long challenge, visit the unofficial homepage. Creator Maureen Thorson provides daily prompts and ideas for participating poets. April 5th Under Her Skin, ed. Lindy Ryan and Toni Miller on shelves “Black Spot Books’ inaugural poetry collection spotlights women in horror poetry, centering on the concept of body horror, and featuring work from Bram-Stoker award-winning and nominated authors, as well as dozens of poems from women (cis and trans) and non-binary femmes in horror.” April 7th April 16th Full Moon April 17 International Haiku Poetry Day Dedicated by the Haiku Foundation to celebrate the ancient poetry form. National Bat Appreciation Day. A great reason to watch Netflix’s Night on Earth docu-series, in which bats pop up in more than one episode. April 29th Mercury at Greatest Eastern Elongation. This is the best time to view Mercury since it will be at its highest point above the horizon in the evening sky. Mercury will appear low in the western sky just after sunset. …

Strange Happenings in January

January 3rd In 1924 British Egyptologist Howard Carter found the sarcophagus of Tutankhamen in the Valley of the Kings near Luxor after several years of searching. His discovery also inadvertently lead to the introduction of the “Mummy Curse” to popular culture. January 4th It Will End Like This, by Kyra Leigh on shelves. “If you think you know how this one will end, I promise, you don’t.” —Kara Thomas, author of That Weekend and The Cheerleaders For fans of They Wish They Were Us and Sadie comes a propulsive thriller that reminds us that in real life, endings are rarely as neat as happily ever after. A contemporary take on the Lizzie Borden story that explores how grief can cut deep.” January 7th The Legand of La Lorona in theaters. “While vacationing in Mexico, a young couple and their son learn about the legend of La Llorona, the evil spirit of a distraught mother who lurks near the water’s edge, striking fear in the hearts of all who see her. La Llorona torments the family …

Strange Happenings in November

November is here, bringing cooler weather, fall foliage, and the end of Daylight Savings Time. November 4th New Super Moon. You won’t see it, no the moon is passing closer to the earth today. November 7th End of Daylight Savings Time November 9th The Hidden by Melanie Golding on shelves. “Following her acclaimed debut Little Darlings, Melanie Golding’s newest folkloric suspense is a spine-tingling twist on Celtic mythology.” Vampires by Matthew Haigh on shelves. “Matthew Haigh’s Vampires is a rare book: devastating both for its dazzling linguistic flair, and its moving central story-an elegy to a lost, beloved aunt. Rich with references that place us firmly in the late 80s and early 90s, it reminds us that childhood is leaping from a bridge into mist. It’s a heady read, in which family life bleeds into gothic fantasy, into video games and arcade classics-with their endless potential for death and rebirth. Every word is lacquered, effulgent, cut like crystal, packed with E numbers, fizzing with energy. Vampires is a dream resurrected, a surreal MTV video, an …

Strange Happenings in September

Happy September! I’ve been away on a blogging summer vacation, but I’m excited to be back with a whole new list of things to look forward to this month. All eight Harry Potter Movies are streaming on HBO Max this month, and I really want to watch the early ones and envelope myself in some back to school nostalgia. There are several exciting horror books coming out this month to read and get in the spooky season spirit, and a couple movies that will help as well. Lastly, I’m anticipating the start of fall. It has been blazing hot in the Carolina’s all summer, and I am pining for cooler temperatures, crunchy leaves, and rain. September 1st If you subscribe to HBO Max, sink into some back to school nostalgia with all eight Harry Potter movies. September 6th Celebrate Fight Procrastination Day, “an unofficial holiday that encourages people to take charge of their procrastination problem and to find ways to combat the never-ending urge to put off important tasks for another day.” September 7th Weird …