All posts tagged: movies

Strange Happenings in May

May brings us the halfway point to summer, the halfway point to Halloween, and a whole list of strange and spooky things to look forward to. May 1st May Day. Originally celebrated in ancient Greece and later Medieval Europe to welcome the halfway point between spring and summer, the first of May later evolved into International Workers Day. May 2nd Halfway point to Halloween 🎃 May 3rd Paranormal Day. A holiday dedicated to sharing paranormal experiences with others. This day is not just limited to ghost stories either, UFOs, Bigfoot sightings, premonitions and deja vu all count! Book of Night by Holly Black on shelves. “#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.” May 5th Peak of the Eta Aquariids Meteor Shower. May 6th The Unsolved Murder of Beverly Lynn Smith streaming on Amazon Prime Video. “The new docuseries focuses on the death of Beverly …

Strange Happenings in April

April 1st NaPoWriMo begins today. If you want to join in on this month long challenge, visit the unofficial homepage. Creator Maureen Thorson provides daily prompts and ideas for participating poets. April 5th Under Her Skin, ed. Lindy Ryan and Toni Miller on shelves “Black Spot Books’ inaugural poetry collection spotlights women in horror poetry, centering on the concept of body horror, and featuring work from Bram-Stoker award-winning and nominated authors, as well as dozens of poems from women (cis and trans) and non-binary femmes in horror.” April 7th April 16th Full Moon April 17 International Haiku Poetry Day Dedicated by the Haiku Foundation to celebrate the ancient poetry form. National Bat Appreciation Day. A great reason to watch Netflix’s Night on Earth docu-series, in which bats pop up in more than one episode. April 29th Mercury at Greatest Eastern Elongation. This is the best time to view Mercury since it will be at its highest point above the horizon in the evening sky. Mercury will appear low in the western sky just after sunset. …

Strange Happenings in January

January 3rd In 1924 British Egyptologist Howard Carter found the sarcophagus of Tutankhamen in the Valley of the Kings near Luxor after several years of searching. His discovery also inadvertently lead to the introduction of the “Mummy Curse” to popular culture. January 4th It Will End Like This, by Kyra Leigh on shelves. “If you think you know how this one will end, I promise, you don’t.” —Kara Thomas, author of That Weekend and The Cheerleaders For fans of They Wish They Were Us and Sadie comes a propulsive thriller that reminds us that in real life, endings are rarely as neat as happily ever after. A contemporary take on the Lizzie Borden story that explores how grief can cut deep.” January 7th The Legand of La Lorona in theaters. “While vacationing in Mexico, a young couple and their son learn about the legend of La Llorona, the evil spirit of a distraught mother who lurks near the water’s edge, striking fear in the hearts of all who see her. La Llorona torments the family …

Strange Happenings in November

November is here, bringing cooler weather, fall foliage, and the end of Daylight Savings Time. November 4th New Super Moon. You won’t see it, no the moon is passing closer to the earth today. November 7th End of Daylight Savings Time November 9th The Hidden by Melanie Golding on shelves. “Following her acclaimed debut Little Darlings, Melanie Golding’s newest folkloric suspense is a spine-tingling twist on Celtic mythology.” Vampires by Matthew Haigh on shelves. “Matthew Haigh’s Vampires is a rare book: devastating both for its dazzling linguistic flair, and its moving central story-an elegy to a lost, beloved aunt. Rich with references that place us firmly in the late 80s and early 90s, it reminds us that childhood is leaping from a bridge into mist. It’s a heady read, in which family life bleeds into gothic fantasy, into video games and arcade classics-with their endless potential for death and rebirth. Every word is lacquered, effulgent, cut like crystal, packed with E numbers, fizzing with energy. Vampires is a dream resurrected, a surreal MTV video, an …

Strange Happenings in September

Happy September! I’ve been away on a blogging summer vacation, but I’m excited to be back with a whole new list of things to look forward to this month. All eight Harry Potter Movies are streaming on HBO Max this month, and I really want to watch the early ones and envelope myself in some back to school nostalgia. There are several exciting horror books coming out this month to read and get in the spooky season spirit, and a couple movies that will help as well. Lastly, I’m anticipating the start of fall. It has been blazing hot in the Carolina’s all summer, and I am pining for cooler temperatures, crunchy leaves, and rain. September 1st If you subscribe to HBO Max, sink into some back to school nostalgia with all eight Harry Potter movies. September 6th Celebrate Fight Procrastination Day, “an unofficial holiday that encourages people to take charge of their procrastination problem and to find ways to combat the never-ending urge to put off important tasks for another day.” September 7th Weird …

Dear God, It Has Teeth

I’ve been enjoying working from home for the last six months, and it’s been a fantastic change for me. The one thing I do miss about working in an office is all of the strange encounters I had with clients at my last job. Many of them served as inspiration for my flash fiction and poetry, like the one below, which I originally posted a few years ago. ********* Every story and poem I write is in some way inspired by a real life experience, none more so then a short story I wrote earlier this month. I work for a company that sublets office space, and part of my job is to drop off mail to each tenant in those suites. We have one new tenant that received a huge shipment of medical supplies when they moved in, boxes of all shapes and sizes. Including one, heavy man sized box. A few weeks after that shipment I stopped by the suite to drop of a small amount of mail. No one was around, and …

Strange Happenings in June

June is here, bringing whole list of spooky books, movies, and poetry to look forward to, along with the summer solstice! What are you looking forward to? June 1st The Shape of Darkness on shelves “A struggling silhouette artist in Victorian Bath seeks out a renowned child spirit medium in order to speak to the dead – and to try and identify their killers – in this beguiling new tale from the queen of Gothic fiction, Laura Purcell” June 8th World Oceans Day. Celebrate virtually with the United Nations, a beach walk if you live near the ocean, or enjoy some ASMR ocean waves. June 15th The Vault by Andrés Cerpa on shelves. “Andrés Cerpa’s sophomore collection grapples with loss, grief, and the disassociation that can come with being a survivor. Everything normal becomes slightly strange, things feel far away and unsteady. In these poems, Cerpa exhibits restraint and care, each thought purposefully positioned on the page. His work is somber, reflective, and deeply moving.” June 19th Juneteenth. Also known as Freedom Day and Liberation …