All posts tagged: astronomy

Strange Happenings in December

December brings us the longest nights of the year, but also some of the brightest celebrations. No matter what religion or practice you follow, the onset of winter highlights the importance of having stories to enjoy while while we wait for longer days and warmer temperatures. December 1st Violent Night in theaters. “An elite team of mercenaries breaks into a family compound on Christmas Eve, taking everyone hostage inside. However, they aren’t prepared for a surprise combatant: Santa Claus is on the grounds, and he’s about to show why this Nick is no saint.” December 2nd Freddy streaming on Disney+ Hotstar. If you’ve got the Disney+ bundle, this Indian thriller is available for you to enjoy. If you suffer from dentophobia, be warned. “The lines between love and obsession blur in this romantic thriller packed with unpredictable twists and sharp turns.” December 5th Krampusnacht Holiday. Not much is known about the origins of the European holiday Krampusnatch, but we do know that it is celebrated the night of December 5th, before the feast of Saint …

Strange Happenings in May

May brings us the halfway point to summer, the halfway point to Halloween, and a whole list of strange and spooky things to look forward to. May 1st May Day. Originally celebrated in ancient Greece and later Medieval Europe to welcome the halfway point between spring and summer, the first of May later evolved into International Workers Day. May 2nd Halfway point to Halloween 🎃 May 3rd Paranormal Day. A holiday dedicated to sharing paranormal experiences with others. This day is not just limited to ghost stories either, UFOs, Bigfoot sightings, premonitions and deja vu all count! Book of Night by Holly Black on shelves. “#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.” May 5th Peak of the Eta Aquariids Meteor Shower. May 6th The Unsolved Murder of Beverly Lynn Smith streaming on Amazon Prime Video. “The new docuseries focuses on the death of Beverly …

Strange Happenings in November

November is here, bringing cooler weather, fall foliage, and the end of Daylight Savings Time. November 4th New Super Moon. You won’t see it, no the moon is passing closer to the earth today. November 7th End of Daylight Savings Time November 9th The Hidden by Melanie Golding on shelves. “Following her acclaimed debut Little Darlings, Melanie Golding’s newest folkloric suspense is a spine-tingling twist on Celtic mythology.” Vampires by Matthew Haigh on shelves. “Matthew Haigh’s Vampires is a rare book: devastating both for its dazzling linguistic flair, and its moving central story-an elegy to a lost, beloved aunt. Rich with references that place us firmly in the late 80s and early 90s, it reminds us that childhood is leaping from a bridge into mist. It’s a heady read, in which family life bleeds into gothic fantasy, into video games and arcade classics-with their endless potential for death and rebirth. Every word is lacquered, effulgent, cut like crystal, packed with E numbers, fizzing with energy. Vampires is a dream resurrected, a surreal MTV video, an …

Strange Happenings in October

For Halloween aficionados, there is a bit of a debate on when spooky season officially starts. Is it July fifth, the day after summer’s major holiday? Or maybe mid August, when Halloween merchandise appeared in craft and home decor stores. Some attribute it to September first or the first day of fall. But by October first, everyone can agree, spooky season is in full swing. October 1st The Pit by Tara Borin on shelves. “Set in a small-town, sub-Arctic dive bar, this debut poetry collection explores the complexities of addiction and the person beneath, and the possibility of finding home and community in unexpected places.” Bingo Hell streaming on Amazon Prime. “Something terrifying has made itself at home in the quiet barrio of Oak Springs, and with each new cry of “Bingo!” another victim falls prey to its diabolical presence. As the cash prizes increase and the body count steadily rises, Lupita must face the frightening realization that this game is truly winner-takes-all.” October 7 Draconids Meteor Shower. If you steep out to watch, you’ll …