All posts filed under: Strange Happenings

Strange Happenings in November

Halloween may be over, but there are plenty of spooky and strange things to look forward to in November.

Strange Happenings in June

June 3rd Watcher in theaters. “Watcher is a thriller movie directed by Chloe Okuno. Watcher follows Julia (Maika Monroe), an American woman who moves to Bucharest with her boyfriend, Francis (Karl Glusman). As she doesn’t speak the language, she becomes isolated while Francis is at work, and in fear of a local serial killer, Julia starts to feel she’s being constantly watched and followed by a suspicious neighbor.” June 7th A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons by Kate Khavari on shelves. “The Lost Apothecary meets Dead Dead Girls in this fast-paced, STEMinist adventure. Debut author Kate Khavari deftly entwines a pulse-pounding mystery with the struggles of a woman in a male-dominated field in 1923 London.” June 8th World Oceans Day. Celebrate virtually with the United Nations, take a beach walk if you live near the ocean, or enjoy some ASMR ocean waves. June 14th Full moon. June 19th Juneteenth. Also known as Freedom Day and Liberation day, the holiday marks the 1865 announcement of General Order No. 3 in Galveston, TX. June 20th Summer …

Strange Happenings in April

April 1st NaPoWriMo begins today. If you want to join in on this month long challenge, visit the unofficial homepage. Creator Maureen Thorson provides daily prompts and ideas for participating poets. April 5th Under Her Skin, ed. Lindy Ryan and Toni Miller on shelves “Black Spot Books’ inaugural poetry collection spotlights women in horror poetry, centering on the concept of body horror, and featuring work from Bram-Stoker award-winning and nominated authors, as well as dozens of poems from women (cis and trans) and non-binary femmes in horror.” April 7th April 16th Full Moon April 17 International Haiku Poetry Day Dedicated by the Haiku Foundation to celebrate the ancient poetry form. National Bat Appreciation Day. A great reason to watch Netflix’s Night on Earth docu-series, in which bats pop up in more than one episode. April 29th Mercury at Greatest Eastern Elongation. This is the best time to view Mercury since it will be at its highest point above the horizon in the evening sky. Mercury will appear low in the western sky just after sunset. …

Strange Happenings in January

January 3rd In 1924 British Egyptologist Howard Carter found the sarcophagus of Tutankhamen in the Valley of the Kings near Luxor after several years of searching. His discovery also inadvertently lead to the introduction of the “Mummy Curse” to popular culture. January 4th It Will End Like This, by Kyra Leigh on shelves. “If you think you know how this one will end, I promise, you don’t.” —Kara Thomas, author of That Weekend and The Cheerleaders For fans of They Wish They Were Us and Sadie comes a propulsive thriller that reminds us that in real life, endings are rarely as neat as happily ever after. A contemporary take on the Lizzie Borden story that explores how grief can cut deep.” January 7th The Legand of La Lorona in theaters. “While vacationing in Mexico, a young couple and their son learn about the legend of La Llorona, the evil spirit of a distraught mother who lurks near the water’s edge, striking fear in the hearts of all who see her. La Llorona torments the family …