Muse of the Day
Leave a Comment

Strange Happenings in May

May brings us the halfway point to summer, the halfway point to Halloween, and a whole list of strange and spooky things to look forward to.

May 1st

May Day. Originally celebrated in ancient Greece and later Medieval Europe to welcome the halfway point between spring and summer, the first of May later evolved into International Workers Day.

May 2nd

Halfway point to Halloween 🎃

May 3rd

Paranormal Day. A holiday dedicated to sharing paranormal experiences with others. This day is not just limited to ghost stories either, UFOs, Bigfoot sightings, premonitions and deja vu all count!

Book of Night by Holly Black on shelves.

“#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.”

May 5th

Peak of the Eta Aquariids Meteor Shower.

May 6th

The Unsolved Murder of Beverly Lynn Smith streaming on Amazon Prime Video.

“The new docuseries focuses on the death of Beverly Lynn Smith, a young mother who lived in a rustic farmhouse in Oshawa, Ontario, and was murdered in her own kitchen in 1974. The series focuses on the cold case and how results of a polygraph test raised suspicion against a key witness who was identified at the time of the crime.”

May 13th

Friday the 13th. Consider reading 13: The Story of the World’s Most Notorious Superstition by Nathaniel Lachenmeyer for a deep dive into all the superstitions surrounding the number 13.

May 16th

Full Moon and total blood moon lunar eclipse. Find how much of the eclipse will be visible to you here.

May 18th

Cyber Hell: Exposing An Internet Horror streaming on Netflix.

“The documentary film focuses on two female college students, a group of journalists and cybercrime police officers who brought down the “Nth Room,” an online sexual exploitation network that charged cryptocurrency fees for users to access explicit content.”

May 20th

Men in theaters. One of the most eerie trailers I’ve seen in quite some time.

“In the aftermath of a personal tragedy, Harper retreats alone to the beautiful English countryside, hoping to find a place to heal. However, someone or something from the surrounding woods appears to be stalking her. What begins as simmering dread soon becomes a fully formed nightmare, inhabited by her darkest memories and fears.”

May 22nd

World Goth Day. Originating in the UK in 2009, events celebrating the Goth subculture of fashion, art, and music have now spread worldwide.

May 24th

Hide by Kiersten White on shelves.

“A high-stakes hide-and-seek competition turns deadly in this dark supernatural thriller from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.”

May 26th

World Dracula Day. Held on the date that Bram Stoker’s Dracula was first published, this year marks the 125th anniversary of its publication.

May 27th

Vincent Price’s Birthday.

Season 4 of Stranger Things streaming on Netflix.

“It’s been six months since the Battle of Starcourt, which brought terror and destruction to Hawkins. Now, a new and horrifying supernatural threat surfaces, presenting a gruesome mystery that, if solved, might finally put an end to the horrors of the Upside Down.”

May 31st

When Other People Saw Us, They Saw the Dead, ed. Lauren T. Davila on shelves.

“An anthology of dark, unsettling writing from some of the most exciting contemporary BIPOC writers. Blending Gothic, horror, folklore, fantasy and fairy-tale, these eerie short stories will disturb, move and humor you. Death is ever-present in these pages, blending with notions of home, memory, grief and belonging, as well as gentrification, white supremacy and colonization.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.